Jesse 吉士 – Shanghai

My parents visited HK at the end of October, so we took a short foodie trip to Shanghai with my grandaunts!  At the beginning, my grandaunts didn’t understand my Jesse obsession (with me gushing about the food on the flight to Shanghai and on the taxi to Jesse! ) but after dining there for 2 nights, they finally understood… it’s really authentic , delicious high quality Shanghainese food in an unpretentious setting.

The following is a compilation of what we ate both nights… I’m too lazy to comment on the dishes, since they taste the same since I’ve first tried it in 2004! You can refer to my previous Jesse posts:  2012, 2010 and 2009… wow.. Jesse is the most blogged-about restaurant on my blog!

salted chicken….In our June visit, the salted chicken was sold out both nights!

kao fu… my favourite! so flavourful!

ma lan tou..

jelly fish head in vinegar

tofu with century-old eggs and topped with chili oil and green onions..

dates stuffed with glutinous rice…. 

braised pork with bamboo shoots and cuttlefish…

stir-fried whole crab meat/roe… since it’s crab season, it would be such a waste if I didn’t eat this every night!  Compared to this dish we had during non-crab season, this time, there were a lot more crab roe!

braised fish head with scallions…. again, I had this both nights! Before, you had to reserve this dish 24 hrs ahead but both times, this was available without pre-ordering.

braised sea cucumber in fish roe

stir-fried freshwater shrimp.. so succulent!

braised tong chai with century eggs and ginger… last time we had this, the soup was pink from the ginger.. this time.. not at all…

stir-fried ji mao cai….

the new items we tried this time:

pan-fried scallion pancake…. very thin, crispy and with a strong scallion taste!

pan-fried red bean pancake…soooooo good! very thin and crispy pancake and a lot of not-too-sweet red bean paste!!!!!!

Glutinous rice dumplings in sweet rice wine….  I ordered this on the last night right before we had to give back our table, as I still wanted to savour another Jesse dish! This was soooooooooo good that I instantly wondered/regretted why I haven’t tried this once during my 8 year patronage! The soup wasn’t overly sweet and had a strong osmanthus flavour.  The best part of this dessert was the dumplings.  Normally, the dumplings in this dessert are plain but Jesse uses dumplings with sesame filling.. MY FAVOURITE!  I’m utterly amazed at the effort used to make this because the dumplings are tiny and they managed to put a lot of sesame in them.

I LOVE JESSE!

FAIM? OUI OUI!!!

Jesse 吉士

No. 41, Tianping Road, Shanghai

Tel: +86-21-6282-9260

One response to “Jesse 吉士 – Shanghai

  1. Pingback: My Jesse 吉士 obsession – Shanghai | faim? oui oui!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

