Sun Hing 新興食家 – Hong Kong

My friends who live in rez at the University of Hong Kong have been raving about the 流沙包 at Sun Hing restaurant for the longest time.

The restaurant opens from 3am to 4pm! Students who live in rez actually come at 3am for late night snack.. it’s a part of their “rez culture”!  Going here for “early” morning dimsum screws up their sleeping schedule for the entire week but the famous 流沙包 egg yoke lava bun makes up for the lack of sleep! Plus, local celebrities (like Eason Chan) also eats dimsum here at 3am.

Although I’m crazy about food, I’m not willing to sacrifice my beauty sleep for dimsum at the wee hours of the night; hence, my lunch time dimsum!  If Lin Heung Kui 蓮香居 is old school, Sun Hing is even more old school.  You share a table with other patrons and get your own dimsum from the table.  O! and this is literally a hole-in-the-wall restaurant… they’ve expanded the restaurant into the alley!

We ordered a bunch of dimsum: beef rice roll, steamed pork ribssiu mai with quail egg, cow intestines, steamed pork ribs rice, siu mai with pig liver, steamed bbq pork buns, shrimp dumplings with enoki mushrooms, and 流沙包 egg yoke lava bun.

This was the 1st time I had shrimp dumplings mixed with anything.. and they mixed it with my favorite enoki mushrooms! Yumm!  The rest of the dim sum was ok.  I was extremely disappointed with the 流沙包 egg yoke lava bun because I had such high expectations for the egg yoke filling(flowy but not too watery).  The 1st order of 流沙包 didn’t flow at all.  I thought that maybe it was a slight steaming error so we ordered another 流沙包. This time, the egg yoke flowed a bit better but still, it didn’t ooze out as I expected.  My friend said that the 流沙包 flows every time she eats it at 3am.. but.. the viscosity of the filling should depend on the steaming time… not the time the bun was made!

FAIM? OUI OUI!!

Sun Hing 新興食家

10 Hou Wo Street, Sai Wan

Leave a Reply

