Off to Aguas Calientes and Machu Picchu, Peru

From Ollantaytambo, we took the Peru Rail to Aguas Calientes, the gateway to Machu Picchu.  We didn’t have enough time to do the infamous 4 days Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu so we settled for the comfy way up!

Who would have thought the train trip would be so luxe?  Food and drink are included!

Nevertheless, I was still too sick to eat it…

Aguas Calientes … the gateway to Machu Picchu….the town actually has a hot spring.. hence, its name..

This is a town built just for Machu Picchu and only caters to tourists..

We went to a random restaurant and this was when I was the sickest…..I threw up in the toilet and was extremely nauseated.  I only ordered soup but I couldn’t even finish that.

Meanwhile, my friends had steak and grilled alpaca!

That night, I didn’t even know if I could wake up the next morning at 4am to go to Machu Picchu……

But I did.. and it was amazing!  Thank God!   We were one of the first ones up and managed to enjoy the archaeological wonder before the crowds.

I didn’t really have dinner that night and only had a banana in the morning, but I managed to hike up Huayna Picchu (the mountain in the background)!

We left Machu Picchu around noon in order to catch our train back to Cusco and we didn’t have time for lunch.

Even though I had an empty stomach and the food on the train looked pretty appetizing, I still didn’t have an appetite to take a bite.

I think I would have had an even better Machu Picchu experience if I didn’t have the stomach bug :(

Faim? still sick!

Leave a Reply

